Ads 468x60px

August 5, 2013

Top Products With Hidden Gluten

Not to long ago I posted a question on my Facebook Page which happened to get a lot of feedback. The question was, "What's the most annoying product you've found gluten in?" Really I was expecting a lot of different responses like, Twizzlers, tooth paste, dressing, and much more. But it led me to think there really are so many crazy things that do have gluten hidden in them that people may be unaware of! That's why I created this list of the top products with hidden gluten to make people more aware of the food they are eating!


Hidden gluten in products list:

Alcohol: I'm sure most of you know that beer is not gluten-free unless labeled so. However, there are many other types of alcohol that may be distilled from wheat, rye or barley that may contain gluten. It is believed that the distillation process removes all the gluten but I say you can never be too careful. Always check before you drink. Here's a Gluten-Free Drinking Guide!


Chips: When at a restaurant or buying at a store, chips are an easy contender for hidden gluten. Some restaurants actually fry their chips. Some brands actually add seasoning or additives to their chips that contain gluten. Always check with the restaurant or read labels to be sure. Here is a Gluten-Free Chip List to help!


Chocolate and Truffles: Many people don't suspect chocolate or truffles to contain gluten but a lot of them actually do! Truffles often contain malt flavoring added to them as well as barley in some cases. Pure chocolate is usually ok but some brands can have cross contamination issues as well. Always check labels and definitely beware of truffles as they almost always contain gluten.


Coffee: This is another that I've tried to make people more aware of since it really can be one people drink every day that's making them sick. Some coffee brands add flavoring and additives which may contain gluten. But the biggest problem seems to be cross contamination with the distribution of the coffee beans and the brewing of the coffee in restaurants as well. To be safe, I created this Gluten-Free Coffee List to help!


Ice-Cream: There are many cases where the ice-cream you are buying may easily contain gluten. Flavors with  chunks of cookies or treats in them are obvious to spot out. But some generic brands may add gluten and other additives as well. For your convenience here is a gluten-free list for Edy's Ice-creamHaagen Dazs Ice-cream, Breyers Ice-cream, and So Delicious Ice-cream!


Lotions and shampoos:
It's very important to check the ingredients of all your lotion and shampoo products. This is one I don't think many people consider reading the label on and I think is one that people should be made more aware of. Also if you have a dairy allergy, checking for milk ingredients in these is critical too. (I get bad skin reactions from some so be aware!)


Make up: Just because a make up may be labeled as natural doesn't mean it is always gluten-free. A lot of you may get breakouts or bad skin reactions due to the make up you may be using. To help, here is a gluten-free make up list from MAC, a gluten-free make up list from Bare Escentuals, and a disclaimer from NARS about gluten in their make up products!


Medication: It can be very hard to figure out whether a medication is gluten-free or not but it should be something you are very aware of as it can be life threatening. I have created a Gluten-Free Medication List to help but ALWAYS read the ingredients of your medicine or consult your doctor before hand. This is obviously the most serious one.


Pet food and treats: If your pet is eating food that contains gluten you could be actually cross contaminating yourself without knowing it. For me it's fun to say my dog Teddy is gluten-free but it really could be a lot more beneficial than I think. It's important to get gluten-free pet food if you want to be as safe as possible! Here's my video on Gluten-free Pet Food too!


Processed meats: Deli meats and the meats you get over the counter are almost always free of gluten. However the packaged pre-cut meats you find in the store have many additives and fillers that can very easily contain gluten. Check labels on these for sure but if I were you, I would stick to the deli to be safest.


Sauteed meats: Some restaurants actually douse their meat in egg, milk, or flour before they cook it. It may be hard to know this unless you ask so always be careful with meats you order and never assume they are guaranteed gluten-free.


Seasonings: This can range from taco seasoning you buy in packets to seasoning that restaurants put on their meats. Always make sure to check labels of the seasoning you are using and to check with the staff at restaurants as well. You can never be too careful!


Soy Sauce: This is a big one as almost all soy sauces are derived from wheat. It is very important when dining out that you know about the sauce you are eating. Even bringing your own would be 100% necessary!


Sports Drinks: Gatorade, powerade, and many others are all listed to be gluten-free according to their site. However, many people with celiac claim they have many issues with these. (I do as well) So what's wrong with them?
  • After doing research and trying to figure it out I discovered that it may have to do with the high amount of concentrated high fructose corn syrup or the sugars being used in them. I would always notice headaches, fogginess, or trouble concentrating more than anything. If you do notice these things then it may be best to avoid these drinks in general. 


Toothpaste: Many have expressed that toothpaste has been something that's been a major product that can contain gluten. I have not come across many that do contain gluten, but I created this Gluten-free Tooth Paste List so you know what's absolutely safe.


Twizzlers, Rice Crispies, Candy, etc: Many candies and treats do contain gluten and may honestly never be known unless you research it. Twizzlers and Rice Crispies are the most common ones people would not think of, but here is a Gluten-free Candy List if it would help as well.



Are there any products that you feel should be added to this list or that you have found hidden gluten in?

48 comments:

Casey Cromwell said...

Thanks for the post! I think the most challenging thing about changing to a gluten free diet in the beginning is all the hidden gluten! You think, "Losing bread won't be too bad..." but you don't realize that gluten is included in many other foods too. Nice post and hope you're feeling better! :)

Brittany said...

SO agree with you about body products! (But you probably figured that ;) )
Medications are serious! My doctor is working with the hospital I will be delivering my baby at to verify every potential medicine that may be used is gluten-free, actually they are very excited about this research and give me little updates every time I come in! At this point they say that most meds with gluten in them are the liquid capsules because the capsules are actually where the gluten is hiding. Most, if not all, tablets and I.V.'s are safe! hows that for interesting?

Stephanie said...

I started buying Rachel Ray's brand of dog food. It's grain free, which means gluten-free! It just suddenly occurred to me there in the pet food aisle that dog food could be contaminating my kitchen.

What's even better is I'm paying LESS for this brand than I was for Purina.

Jill said...

We have talked about Twizzlers in the past and how we miss licorice - I have gone on their website numerous times and submitted a 'new product' idea (gf Twizzlers), I invite you to do the same! The more we request it, the more likely they will consider it. Not healthy, I know, but it would be a great once-in-awhile treat!

Thanks for all of your research and these helpful lists, Taylor!

Taylor Miller said...

I know..Twizzlers shouldn't have gluten in them and I 100% agree! I don't even think it's needed so I'd be happy to submit that to the 'new product' idea! Who cares if it's not healthy...everyone deserves a treat every once in a while! Thanks for commenting!

MNChileMom said...

Great post - and something to add, if you have any questions at all about a product or the ingredients, CALL the manufacturer. Many cosmetics and personal products are not required to list their ingredients, so it's better to be safe and call for information. My mom was diagnosed with Celiac in her 80s after years of problems, and she learned very quickly that calling was the quickest way to get information - she even got some free samples from a few companies! That was 15 years ago - thankfully there's a lot more information available these days, but I still call or contact via a company's website if I have any doubts about whether a product contains gluten.

Taylor Miller said...

That's a really good tip and point! Calling the companies is probably one of the best thing you could do to be safe and learn about the ingredients. I'll make aure to add something about that and add that tip. Thanks for commenting and for the great advice. I'm sure it will be very helpful to others!

Heather Jacobsen said...

Yes, and don't forget that just because a company says their cosmetics are "all natural" (like Bare Escentuals) doesn't mean there's no gluten... gluten is natural after all!

It does really trouble me that gluten is added to spice mixes (like McCormicks). SO unnecessary!

Also troubling, is the amount of products that SOY is in. I have a soy allergy, too. And it turns out that soy is just as bad, if not worse, than gluten in that regard.

Taylor Miller said...

Make up is a good one to add to this list too! I forgot about that one. Thanks! Also Soy seems to be in everything, I even noticed it in the cooking spray I use and I was shocked! I can't imagine how hard it is to avoid that too.

Chelsey said...

I'm glad I found your website. I've just been diagnosed and it's a bit overwhelming. Your website has a lot of great lists that simplify things! Thanks so much...

Taylor Miller said...

You're welcome! So glad to hear it's helped you and has made it easier. If you have any questions just message me anytime and I'd be glad to help!

Mojo Barton said...

Oh my goodness! This website is SO helpful!! I too was just recently diagnosed with celiac, and was secretly very worried that I was going to have a hard time going to friends houses or out to the store after school with friends. Now with these lists it'll be a breeze. I didnt know I could still have so many products!:D Thanks so much, Taylor.

Taylor Miller said...

You're welcome! I'm happy you realized there are still so many options on the gluten-free diet. Glad to help!

Sharon Courcelle said...

Hello, I was just reading this post again, actually and wanted to share with everyone an experience that I recently had when buying deli meat. I too thought that I was safe purchasing meats at the deli.. as my local supermarket proudly promotes that 95% of their meets are GF. As I'm watching my turkey being sliced, I glance down at the meats in the case and spotted a bologna loaf laced with macaroni and like a ton of bricks it hit me. If that bologna loaf was cut on the same slicer as my turkey, I am getting gluten. Needless to say, I didn't take the meat that day. Instead I now have an agreement with the deli that I will call in my deli orders a day ahead so that my items can be processed on a clean slicer. Now, I know there are many of you out there that will agree that really the store should have a dedicated slicer for gluten free slicing. Unfortunately my store can't accommodate that. Not yet anyway... but I'm working on it. :-)

Taylor Miller said...

I actually think I've been having the same problem with the deli meat I've been buying. I keep getting glutened and haven't been able to figure out what from and I really do think that is my problem as well. Thanks for sharing your input for others!

Anonymous said...

One thing that we have to remember is that ingredients can change so we need to read the ingredients list every time we buy an item. I learned that the hard way.

Amber Mann said...

Hi Taylor,
glad I found this website. I was just diagnosed in April and still learning everything. My symptom was extreme hives, and they seem to still be lingering, after avoiding gluten. I am questioning my toothpaste, coffee, and soda. Those seem to bet the things, that I have not changed but take everyday. Would those have hidden gluten? As for makeup, I thought it was only if you digest the gluten, not if you use it on your skin. How is someone know if the gluten is causing issues from their skin products?

Taylor Miller said...

Hey Amber,
Soda and toothpaste are probably the least of your worries because they almost always do not contain gluten and would usually say so if you just read the ingredients. Coffee may be a problem since their are issues with cross contamination and some have added flavorings as well. Usually gluten and skin contact just cause a skin reaction like hives and such. It doesn't cause any digestive issues because you would have to ingest it but it can definitely cause skin issues! My mom would get really bad hives and reactions on her face from certain make ups so she is one to testify. Hope that helps!

cathi lipham said...

Thanks for all the hard work!! Helps a lot!! One thing I have had troubles with is Angus beef. Anyone else?

Anonymous said...

Hi, just wanted to add that licking an envelope to seal it is something we who are gluten-intolerant cannot safely do.
Personally, I got "glutened" by a coconut based "ice cream" and I also got very sick from a natural brand of chips (but, I think it was malto-dextrin that got me...which I have heard many celiacs have problems with)
Good blog. Thanks for writing it.

Anonymous said...

I was surprised to find out that KFC actually adds flour to their mashed potatoes. It is no unnecessary :(

Anonymous said...

Just wanted to point out that EdenFoods soy sauce is gluten free, even though wheat is the first ingredient! It is high-quality and fermented and is tested before bottling and found to be 100% gluten free. Not sure, but assume that other soy sauce brands are either not as thoroughly fermented or contain wheat as a filler, so would stay away unless it's certified.
Also, watch out for commercially grown mushrooms!! Years ago I worked at a factory/indoor farm where shiitake mushrooms were grown. They were grown on barley spawn. Definitely NOT gluten-free. Does anyone know about commercially grown button mushrooms, etc.? I love mushrooms but can't trust them unless they have been wildcrafted. Thanks!

Anonymous said...

Please know most chocolate also has wheat gluten. :(

Taylor Miller said...

Like truffles and such. Forgot about that one but I'll add it. Thanks!

Grandma/MeMe said...

Is cornmeal gluten free, such as tacos, etc.?

Taylor Miller said...

Yep, cornmeal is gluten-free!

Anonymous said...

Just learned I may be getting gluten from McCormicks spices and choc. also soy is bad for some cancer patients, as their cancer may be feeding on any soy product. As was mine, so no soy either.

Anonymous said...

Deli meats can be cross contaminated. Have had issues with this. Never knowing what meats were last cut on the machines and Some deli meats use wheat binders as well.

tabby said...

I heard restaraunts use flour to ship their fries to keep them from sticking and such even is this true?

Taylor Miller said...

Definitely! I've been glutened a few times from chips at restaurants so be careful!

Anonymous said...

Soya creams for some brands. I was stupefied!

Anonymous said...

How can you know if the chips are glutened????

Ired12 said...

A big surprise for me is chicken stock and chicken broth in cartons. I couldn't find where I getting it from, low and behold. a 6 mo. rash disappeared in a week after I found, one said may contain... Who knew they would do that and the bigger question is why?

Anonymous said...

Thanks for the site. I have been celiac for 35 years, so have a lot of experiences. I also have dermatitis herpetiformis. I am more intolerant that the average celiac. Things to consider: the carmel coloring in soft drinks (even the more clear ones) is a source of gluten; paper coffee filters are stiffened with starch and are a source of gluten in coffee (if I but Starbucks beans and grind them myself and brew in a french press, there has never been a gluten reaction); I agree with being aware of the flavorings in grocery store coffees and post-brewing additives; charcoal briquetts are "gluted together" with starch and add gluten to the foods cooked over charcoal fires - wood chunk charcoal (Coyboy Charcoal is a brand) is safe to use for your bar-b-Q; flavor extracts (extracted with alcohol) contain gluten, as do all liquors distilled from grain - wine is gluten free; vineger is often made from distilled alcohol and is likely to contain gluten;

Rhonda Ladue said...

Thank you for your site!

Katy Maguire said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Anonymous said...

Watch out for 'Modified Corn Starch' - gluten added back in, not to all but it's a catch all phrase used to indicate glutenation or a product added back in to mimic gluten. Unless the product specifically says - 'Gluten Free' and it has 'Modified Corn Starch' stay away - I've had hideous reactions and have learned to watch for this.
Sugar - it's a possible for cross contamination due to the place of process. Process lines can run many different products and a 'sugar' plant is no different.
Good to know about the colouring in soft drinks and I had no idea about the coffee filters.
Also Saki (if you're like me and love it), be careful as you need to buy a pure saki - it must say 'Junmai' - meaning pure, no added ingredients. Other cheaper saki's add barley & wheat bi products for taste.
For those with Dermatitis Herpetiformis (I've got it to), I use Vichy mineral shampoo (it's brilliant and you use 1/2 the amount of normal shampoos) and Avene products - their Tri-Xera & Cicalfate lines. I've heard there are other products out there, but I haven't tried them yet. Not sure I will as I know what I've got now works and its a bitch getting rid of a reaction.

Erika Dragich said...

Any recommendations for products both Gluten & Soy Free: candies & make up specifically? Food, I've come to realize unless you make it, you don't really know. It's not worth the reactions & days of cleansing it from the system after eaten. Thanks all for the commentary.

Melanie Patten said...

You list all Hershey's kisses as gluten-free. My understanding is that the only ones that are safe are the milk chocolate, and the filled ones...caramel, cherry cordial.

Anonymous said...

Beware of cosmetics, lotions, shampoos and the like. As an example, you put gluten containing make-up on your face, touch your face with your finger, and then lick your finger for whatever reason. You've just glutened yourself. Another example is shaking hands with a person who has put lotion on and then licking your finger for whatever reason (ever been to a potluck?). My husband is very sensitive, and has reacted to my make-up and handshake-passed lotion. No more make-up or lotion for me!

Pet food and deli meat were huge cross contamination issues for him as well. Our cats appreciate Blue Buffalo Grain-Free.

Thanks for all the info Taylor! Keep up the fantastic work.

Anonymous said...

Is there a risk of cross contamination with the pretzel M&Ms during production? I've had reactions to M&Ms since they started making those.

Anonymous said...

Your skin is you largest organ it is not a barrier to your body. Makeup and hair products are a big problem. MirabellA mineral based makeup . Most of their makeup is gluten free which is why our salon uses them. Also Surface hair products are all gluten free, vegan ,and organic. They are amazing and is why we exclusively only sell them.

Anonymous said...

I have the DH version of Celiac as well as digestive. I have really had to watch the body products like shampoo, conditioner and soap. I don't wear makeup anymore. It was a pain anyway and I am in a humid subtropical climate and sweat. I did find out that my hands would break out at work using a keyboard. The food was catered in so many people ate at the workstation and I came into contact with gluten. I brought my own keyboard and mouse to work since we did not have an assigned workstation.

Merimar ni Fiach said...

PROBIOTICS! This is the list I can't find. Next list please!

Nette Harley said...

Not all deli meats are safe. Even the innocent looking ones like ham, often contain gluten fillers/binding agents. Even the glue used to make it look like a real piece of meat often contains gluten. My constant mantra is "Can I please see the ingredients?"

Anonymous said...

Fantastic site, both myself and youngest daughter have Celiacs, we discovered that Kraft Carmel candies contain wheat. Our reaction was diarrhea and Dermatitis Herpetiformis. Also York peppermint paddies are fine but not the minis, store brand jelly beans are boy gluten-free. On the issue of deli meats all Boars Head products and Deitz and Watson meats are gluten free. Also many deli departments will clean the slicer before cutting if you ask..nicely. Thank you for this site keep posting

Cybermommy said...

The glue on envelopes and stamps contain gluten, so if you lick them you're getting glutened. Also the glue used to secure both ends of the toilet paper rolls, contains gluten. Hopefully these don't go in anyone's mouths (we have a toddler, so you never know), but it's good to be aware of.

Anonymous said...

Hot chocolate - most brands contain gluten. We only trust Swiss Miss and Starbucks.

Post a Comment