Ads 468x60px

July 15, 2012

Wheat Free Not The Same as Gluten Free

Living a gluten-free life can be tough when shopping for new products, that's why looking over labels is something that we have to take seriously. In checking ingredients there are items that contain flour that can still be considered gluten-free.

Items containing potato flour, tapioca flour, rice flour, corn flour, and mustard flour can still be void of gluten and are usually safe.  However, products containing food starch can be a potential threat due to the regulations and rules for food manufacturers to use this term. 

In 2004, the FDA took a step by introducing the "Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act." This act requires ingredients derived from any of eight major food allergens be clearly indicated on food labels. Under the act, modified starch derived from wheat must be clearly identified as such on the ingredient list.

Unfortunately, this legislation only targets fish, milk, eggs, crustacean shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, soy beans & wheat. Other potential sources of gluten, such as rye, malt, barley or even oats, do not need to be identified. That means these ingredients can be put on the labels of some products and say wheat free, but it does not mean it is actually gluten free. For more information on controversial gluten-free ingredients, Click Here!

0 comments:

Post a Comment