If you've seen commercials for Taco Bell's Cantina Bowl and think they finally made something gluten free, think again! On their commercial they claim to make this bowl all natural with only a few ingredients. Although it may look like it's natural and you would think it has to be gluten free, it's not. On Taco Bell's website it shows the following info below. To view Taco Bell's Cantina Bowl page click Here!
- Marinated chicken or steak,
- Roasted corn
- Pepper salsa
- Black beans
It makes you wonder how could there possibly be gluten, wheat, and milk in something with such few and natural looking ingredients. It all comes down to fillers. The grade of chicken/steak they use for this bowl is the lowest grade you can find. It's the scraps and fat that's left over from the good meat, it's then filled with artificial ingredients not listed to make it taste better and pass off as food. Also the rice contains gluten too so getting the Veggie Cantina bowl will not avoid this. It goes to show although something may look gluten free it doesn't mean it is. Anything can be added to the simplest foods to make it not so and you always have to be careful when eating out Gluten Free.
Note: Taco Bell has conflicting info on their site. At one point it did actually have the allergy info that I listed. But now it says there is no wheat or gluten in it at all. I have contacted them and have been told personally by customer service their is gluten in it. They have the wrong info on their site which is very angering and needs to be fixed. Many people have gotten sick and have confirmed their is definitely gluten in it after all.