Ads 468x60px

June 12, 2013

What The Heck? Wednesday #7 (Modified Ingredients)



For this video I decided to do it on modified ingredients in general. This can range from modified starches, modified sugars, and to genetically modified ingredients as well. I give you a better idea of one specific ingredient to avoid on the gluten-free diet in general, and some info on what "modified" means as well! Oh, and don't mind Max in the beginning either...haha!


Key points:
  • Modified food starch is safe if you are gluten-free!
  • Modified corn starch can be derived from wheat in some cases and have wheat based ingredients so be careful.
  • In most cases if a modified ingredient contains gluten, it will say so in the allergen info.
  • A modified ingredient does not always mean it is genetically modified, although there is no way to tell if it is due to the U.S. labeling system..

Sources:
(http://whatisthatingredient.com/ingredient.php?id=29)
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modified_starch)
(http://www.inspection.gc.ca/english/fssa/labeti/inform/calciume.shtml)


Please share with me an ingredient you would like me to do a video on next week that you may want to learn more about and thanks for watching!

0 comments:

Post a Comment