Ads 468x60px

April 24, 2013

What the Heck? Wednesday #3 (Modified Food Starch)



This week for my 3rd What the Heck? Wednesday, I decided to do my video on modified food starch! I'll give you a better idea of the ingredient and help you know if it is something you should avoid or not on a gluten-free diet. I was very tired in this video by the way so I apologize!

Sources:
(http://inrfood.com/ingredients/46)
(http://www.celiaccentral.org/answers-from-a-dietitian/Answers-from-a-Dietitian/494/vobid--8383/)
(http://healthwyze.org/index.php/component/content/article/261-understanding-foods-labeled-modified-what-is-modified-food-starch-and-should-it-be-avoided.html)

Key points:
  • Modified food starch can contain wheat without being labeled so!
  • It is only guaranteed safe if found in a gluten-free product!
  • Processed meats do not have to say where the modified food starch is derived from which could be from wheat!
  • In most cases modified food starch is gluten-free but not in all.
  • I would be safe and avoid this ingredient as much as possible due to misleading labeling issues.

Comment an ingredient below that you would like me to do a video on for next Wednesday to learn more about it!

0 comments:

Post a Comment